Experienced, reliable sitters available preferably north/far north QLD (posted 17/1/20)

Home > Classifieds > Housesitters Available

We love wandering our great country and we enjoy doing house sits during our travels. Our happy wanderings over the last four years has also seen us volunteer at various experiences where we feel we have gained so much.

For 2020 we plan to travel into NSW & Qld to get away from our cold winter here in Victoria and will once again be looking for house sits during our travels. In particular we would love to house sit in the far north/north Queensland areas. This allows us to explore areas well and to live like a local so we get the full experience of the area we are in. We are flexible with dates if we are in your area at the correct time.

In 2019 we did three various house sits all with different requirements. Our first was in April 2019 in Lyndoch SA where we were responsible for maintaining the garden and keeping it well watered during hot weather, mowing of lawns and keeping it neat and tidy. Here we had no access to the house but were more than happy with that and would do it again if we had good access to a dump point.

Our second was in Darwin in May where we looked after a British Bulldog with a great personality. She had a few skin allergies and we had no problems keeping her comfortable with creams and lotions supplied. She was a very affectionate dog who loved being around us and was always looking for pats and cuddles which we happily gave. We enjoyed our stay in the house this time as Cookie enjoys being around people even at night.

Our 3rd sit was near Turkey Beach, Qld where we sat 3 dogs, 7 chooks and 2 friendly cats. We were responsible for feeding all the animals as required, watering of various plants and daily walks of the dogs around the 200 acre property. As it was very dry and we were conscious of fires near by we put a fire plan into place and were ready to leave with the animals if required.

Prior to this we have done a private house sit in Busselton, WA where we were responsible for gardening/watering a large area which involved understanding the watering and pump system. We had a Shetland pony to feed and make sure his water was clean and available, fed chooks/ducks and checked on sheep in the paddock.

We have both grown up with dogs and cats and are very comfortable with dogs, especially Paul who has a real affinity with any dog and is easily able to relate/respond to the dog. We love to walk dogs and we often look after our daughters two Corgis who have a huge amount of energy and love to be walked daily.

We feel we can turn our hands to most things as per the following experiences. In June/July 2019 we acted as caretakers to the Batchelor Museum, Batcherlor, NT where we were responsible for the day to day running of the museum and also running a small cafe attached to the museum.

Previously we have lived and worked remotely in central Northern Territory, where we worked on a property with a shop that serviced the local Aboriginal communities. We have helped out on a Station Stay on the Darling river in NSW where we were responsible for cleaning of toilets/showers, some light gardening/watering, collecting firewood, maintenance jobs and generally helping out where necessary. We have also worked in a camp ground on Lake Argyle on the WA/NT border where we did ground work and minded a 4.5 year old child whilst her parents were busy running the business.

We are both honest and reliable and are very house proud. We have always been home owners and would treat your home as our own. We are both non-smokers but enjoy a social glass of wine or beer. We have come from responsible careers – Paul being a self employed builder has always had a great relationship with customers and always showed excellent detail to finishes. He can also turn his hand to most things and is willing to give things a try. Leanne comes from a nursing/medical background where confidentiality and trustworthiness was a huge priority. Leanne loves to keep things very neat and tidy.

We have a fully self contained caravan and are happy to sleep in the van or house as necessary. We enjoy housesitting and would love the opportunity to help you have a well earned break and I am sure you will be more than happy with how we look after your house and pets alike.

Email: p.lslorach@bigpond.com

advertisement
advertisement

© 2020 The Grey Nomads All Rights Reserved | ADMIN